Thread: Flash white eye

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details

Default Flash white eye

Can anybody tell me how to stop flash white eye I have lightroom 3 and i am only learning to use it all advice welcome.
    comments and reposts welcome

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details

"Flash eye" or "steel" eye can be remedied by using an off camera flash on a side bracket so the flash comes from a differing angle to the lens angle (let me know if you want a better explanation of that). Using the on camera flash will sometimes make red eye and steel eye more prominent. I normally use photoshop to remedy the problem as I don't have a side bracket for my flash. If you would like a demonstration on my technique then post one of your flash eyed images

Image Reposts
    No, don't edit

I would try to select the flashed pupil, copy onto a new layer (CTRL+J in Photoshop), desaturate this copied layer, then darken (usually needs some darkening) with the burn tool. The careful selection of the flashed pupil is the most important thing. Hope this helps.

Image Reposts
    Please ask

Ross Lightroom is OK at reducing red-eye/steel-eye but not perfect. With steel-eye LR won't usually recognise it when you use the red-eye tool. So you might need to use the Adjustment Brush with a small brush at -1 at least
    In case you are not familiar with the red-eye tool i have a few screenshots for you which may help?
    1st image shows red-eye and the tool that you need. Note you need to be in the Develop mode of course. dragging the cursor out to the size that you need to get it to recognise the eye. Note that you need to drag it to the size of the entire eye - not just the red pupil.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen shot 2011-06-13 at 6.29.22 PM.jpg 
Views:	75 
Size:	234.8 KB 
ID:	9858

2nd image shows the auto retouched pupil size is too big. You can grab the edge of the white circle to resize manually or move the entire circle to get it centred properly