Thread: Camera Equipment Insurance

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details

Default Camera Equipment Insurance

Hi all,

I was not sure which forum to post this in, however as it relates directly to camera equipment, I thought I would put it in here.

I have built up a fair amount of photography gear and that is about to grow with the addition of the 7D and Canon 500f/4 in the next few weeks or so. As such, I really need to think about insuring the equipment. I thought it might be covered under the house and contents insurance, but not entirely sure as the company does not seem to be able to give me much advice.

I was wondering if anybody can recommend a good company for camera insurance; I am not a pro so cant afford to pay very high premiums. Protecsure offers a 3 year premium of just over $1,900 for 3 years coverage of $20,000 worth of gear - has anyone heard of or had any dealings with this company?

Many thanks!
    Aust. Life List (IOC) - 315 (Rufous Owl- 11/09/2014)
    Dale Mengel Photography - a work in progress!
    Follow me on Facebook
    Check out my Birding Blog

Image Reposts
    Please ask

Default Re: Camera Equipment Insurance

I use NRMA and they let me add additional items to my contents insurance to be covered outside the home. I have about $9,000 additional cover for all my camera gear and it costs me about $30 extra per month.

I've never had to claim so I can't tell you what they're like if something does get damaged but I'm sure others can.

Cheers
    Craig.

Image Reposts
    Please ask

I have all my gear insured for professional use with AIS Insurance Brokers - based in Melbourne and underwritten by Lloyds of London.
    It costs me about $1300 a year for over $35K worth of gear. (i also have my laptops listed on this policy)
    Excess is only $200 per claim and they are efficient with paying out which i have now done 3 times with them.