Thread: Help with Pentax K200D

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details

Default Help with Pentax K200D

Quick introduction name is Charlie been a keen Bird watcher for some time but have just started to try and take some photo's with a DSLR.

Equipment used:

Pentax K200D, Sigma APO DG 70mm-300mm Landner L820 Tripod any tips of using/setting for the K200D would be great this is my first time with a DSLR.

Cheers Charlie

Image Reposts
    Please ask

Don't use a Pentax Charlie, but some things are common to any DSLR. Suggest you start off in aperture priority at f8-10, pick an ISO you are happy with (possibly ISO200-400 depending on light, not sure what the noise is like on that model camera), pick evaluative/matrix metering (whatever Pentax call it), then practice getting closer.

Assuming you are shooting in Raw (you should for many reasons) read up (google) on expose to the right, which basically means you over expose the image up to the point of clipping the whites, or least don't underexpose it. This keeps the noise in the image under control. Learn how to call up the histogram and check it regularly, you want the chart to be pushed towards the right without being clipped at the highlight end. If you shoot raw you have the opportunity to adjust the exposure (within reason) and fine tune the image in raw conversion after the fact. To adjust the exposure based on the histogram either switch to manual (using the metered setting to start with) or adjust exposure compensation. You just need to be aware of clipping and watch that you don't push too far particularly on bright red or yellow birds. This links explains exposure techniques and what you are achieving:

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tut...techniques.htm
    Chris Ross
    Helensburgh NSW
    www.aus-natural.com
    Instagram: @ausnaturalimages

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details