Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taking Photos of Shorebirds - How to guide.

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details

Default Taking Photos of Shorebirds - How to guide.

I thought I would share how I am currently taking my shorebird photos. First it is really important to try and get eye level with a bird. We are trying for eye contact in all our shots and having the low angle really helps. This is my kit.

1. Frying Pan - I use an old one my wife no longer wants.
    2. Swimming clothes - I usally use a rash vest and shorts.
    3. Change of clothes and a towel in your car.
    4. Camera
    5. Lots of patience
    6. Sunscreen and a hat. (Thanks GeorgeP)

I currently have a Canon 7D and Ef400L 5.6 (640 Focal length) which means I need to get close for maximum detail. It would be ideal to have a 600/f4 + 2x Converter giving 1200 focal length when shooting shorebirds but at this stage I am just starting out and have the basic kit. So how do we get close enough to get some detail in out shots.

I read about using a frying pan online and decided to give it a go. I basically scout out the birds I want to capture then go commando style. I usually walk to the birds safety zone then get down on my stomach and commando crawl with the frying pan in one hand and the camera in the other. I will do a few metres at a time then stop and make sure the birds are settled. I repeat this until I get close enough. I then place the camera on the fying pan and take a few shots and then push the pan and camera forward a small amount at a time. I repeat this as much as I can.

It is trail and error with certain species. Some are very flighty like Pacific Golden Plovers and Sooty Oystercatchers whilst others will tolerate your slow movements.

If you can time the tide so it is coming in you can often crawl close then let the tide push the birds to you.