Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Australian Bird Field Guides

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details

Default Australian Bird Field Guides

Hi all,

I've now arrived back in Australia and I'm wondering what people consider to be the best bird guide books for Australia?

Being currently located in country Australia, I picked up the only guide book I could get. It's the Michael Morcrombe Field Guide to Australian Birds. It looks pretty good and is a great start to getting a handle on Australia's birdlife. It there a better book that people like?

That being said there are a few species that I'm struggling to identify so I'll post images when I get the chance for experts to look over.
    Stephen Parker
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Canon EOS 7D, Canon EF 400mm f/5.6 L USM and other stuff

Tony Hansford Guest

I'm new to this "sport" so I bought some guides from Qld Museum website and I'm also starting to use the Birds Queensland bird finder webpage. It helps me identify birds from my photos and often has an mp3 of the bird call.

Image Reposts
    Yes, with details

Pizzey and Knight.

Without doubt the best field guide.

They have the best drawings, the most information, the best distribution maps, pretty much everything you could want in a field guide. And it's not thta much bigger than the other three main field guides (Slater; Morcombe; Simpson & Day).