Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Just a Query.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Marybrook WA.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    12,129

    Default Just a Query.

    Just wondering how come some peoples posts are small and with out the pic with them? . Plus some times the little stick that comes up and moves along when I type doesn't show. Is that my end or yours?. It doesn't happen on any other site I frequent.
    The voices in my head may not be real, but they come up with some great ideas..

    Cheers Rev.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Yarra Ranges, Victoria
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    3,748

    Default

    Hi Ray,

    The small posts are a result of this, basically the removal of the No Thumbnails Available generic image holder. Personally I like it, looks much neater.

    The missing "stick" I believe is another impact of the Forum loading issues.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Marybrook WA.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    12,129
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adam Blyth View Post

    The missing "stick" I believe is another impact of the Forum loading issues.
    Thanks for explaining that Adam. It's bloody annoying when you can't see where the next letter is going to go .
    The voices in my head may not be real, but they come up with some great ideas..

    Cheers Rev.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Marybrook WA.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    12,129
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Does anyone else have the problem with the "stick"? I have just posted up some orchid shots and the print has gone where ever it wants as I can't see the little "stick". I have typed this without being able to see the "stick".Bloody annoying.
    The voices in my head may not be real, but they come up with some great ideas..

    Cheers Rev.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    12,866

    Default

    No idea whats going on there Ray, sorry. Someone might have an answer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Coast, NSW.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    6,408

    Default

    I did a quick search of the vBulletin site for any records of bugs relating to missing cursor while writing text. There were no bugs reported that I could find. I did however find mention of this issue within the forum. The consensus back then was that it was being caused by the editor or browser (generally Firefox) or a combination of both. Next time it happens I suggest changing the editor Settings> General Settings> Miscellaneous Options or your browser if this is an option.
    I have never had this issue with this site, however I encountered this problem using Firefox on my own site.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Marybrook WA.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    12,129
    Thread Starter

    Default

    "curser", that's the word I was looking for. I am typing this without it, and have been doing it for 2 days. I will try what you said Gerard.
    PS. I need a bit of help please Gerard. Where do I find settings etc.?
    The voices in my head may not be real, but they come up with some great ideas..

    Cheers Rev.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Coast, NSW.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    6,408

    Default

    Ray, click on "Settings" at the top right of this page. Then click on "general settings" on the page that opens (left hand column). On the next page that opens, navigate down to the section labelled "Miscellaneous Options" choose another editor from the selection. Let me know how you go.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Marybrook WA.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    12,129
    Thread Starter

    Default

    It doesn't make any difference Gerard, but I have noticed it only does it when I use Quick Reply
    The voices in my head may not be real, but they come up with some great ideas..

    Cheers Rev.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Coast, NSW.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    6,408

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Marybrook WA.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    12,129
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerard Satherley View Post
    Ray, can I ask what browser you are using.
    I am pretty sure it's Firefox.
    The voices in my head may not be real, but they come up with some great ideas..

    Cheers Rev.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    4,109

    Default

    Just noticed that, in my last two posts, the cursor wasn't there. I use Firefox, and was using quick reply

    However, in a twist of cruel irony, when I started to write a post for this thread, the cursor miraculously appeared (ie I can see it now as I type). So it must be completely random, and possibly to do with page loading...
    Familiarity breeds contempt; don't neglect the common birds
    --\\
    ---\\_(j*)>.........Aus Life List: 534 (Northern Royal Albatross - 6/9/14)
    ----\___)................NSW List: 428 (Northern Royal Albatross - 6/9/14)
    ------\ \..............o..2014 List: 348 (Southern Giant Petrel - 6/9/14)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Yarra Ranges, Victoria
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    3,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ashy Drongo View Post
    and possibly to do with page loading...
    It is almost certainly related to page loading times.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Coast, NSW.
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    6,408

    Default

    Adam, if it is related to loading times how come I and others are not seeing this issue.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Yarra Ranges, Victoria
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    3,748

    Default

    I don't know Gerard, but it is probably the same reason others are not experiencing the other issues that I and a few other members are experiencing with forum loading.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •