Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Photo specs in Photoshop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    4,537

    Default Photo specs in Photoshop

    I'm just wondering, I see people posting the focus distance for their images when they post, as in, how far away the bird was from the camera. In theory, when I look in photoshop and go to 'File', 'File info' it should be listed there with all the other camera specs like focal length and ISO etc, but I just don't see it. Any ideas as to the reason why? Is it possible that my camera/lens combination doesn't record that information? I use the Canon 550D with a 55-250 kit lens.
    Reposts welcome =)

    Blog- Close Encounters of the Bird Kind. Updated 28/05/2014 "Courting Cuckoos"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wollongong
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    6,344

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bec Z View Post
    Is it possible that my camera/lens combination doesn't record that information?
    I think so, my D300 never recorded it, it is being recorded with my D7000....
    Aus list 632 (Powerful Owl, Callala Bay, NSW, 01-05-2014, finally thanks Matt!)
    Year list 159 (Powerful Owl, Callala Bay, NSW, 01-05-2014)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Image Reposts
    Please ask
    Posts
    12,285

    Default

    Hey Bec - I'm not sure of the exact how/why either to be honest. Interestingly i can only see the distance info in Bridge. not in Lightroom!
    I'm sure it's only more modern cameras. I know the 1Dmk4 and 7D have it - not sure about the 550D sorry. try looking in Bridge and see if its there?
    Cheers, Dave

    www.davidstowe.com.au WORKSHOPS

    Aus Life List IOC= 684 - Grey Honeyeater
    "So God created every winged bird according to its kind. And God saw that it was good." Genesis 1:21


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Proserpine, Queensland
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    4,668

    Default

    Hi Bec,

    It's only the later Canon cameras that have that capability, so 7D, 1D Mark IV, etc as my 50D did not have that function. Your 550D probably does not have that information available, although I have never used one so not sure. To get the distance info, all I have to do is right click on the photo in Windows, go to properties, then details tab and all the EXIF, including the distance info, is displayed in there. No idea how that happened, it just did without me doing anything It works for both my 7D and 1D4 cams.
    That's the only reason I say, for example, "subject distance: 20.4m" in my photos - I am not that good to accurately guess distance down to 0.1m
    Aust. Life List (IOC) - 315 (Rufous Owl- 11/09/2014)
    Dale Mengel Photography - a work in progress!
    Follow me on Facebook
    Check out my Birding Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SurfCoast, Victoria
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    5,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dale Mengel View Post
    Hi Bec,

    It's only the later Canon cameras that have that capability, so 7D, 1D Mark IV, etc as my 50D did not have that function.
    My 40D has that information so I suspect the 50D would have it too. I know nothing about the 550D with regards to exif.
    Cheers,
    Geoff


    reposts welcome

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Proserpine, Queensland
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    4,668

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geoff Gates View Post
    My 40D has that information so I suspect the 50D would have it too. I know nothing about the 550D with regards to exif.
    Hmm, I wonder why I wasn't getting the info on the 50D. I did nothing different when I upgraded to the 7D or 1D4 - maybe it coincided with when I bought Photoshop CS4 which could explain why
    Aust. Life List (IOC) - 315 (Rufous Owl- 11/09/2014)
    Dale Mengel Photography - a work in progress!
    Follow me on Facebook
    Check out my Birding Blog

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Image Reposts
    No, don't edit
    Posts
    2,555

    Default

    Dave, when I used the 1DIII you had, I was getting the distance info. 33m to the SqTK nest from where we stood!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SurfCoast, Victoria
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    5,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dale Mengel View Post
    Hmm, I wonder why I wasn't getting the info on the 50D. I did nothing different when I upgraded to the 7D or 1D4 - maybe it coincided with when I bought Photoshop CS4 which could explain why
    Have a look at the exif for one of your 50D raw files in bridge. ...I'll bet it is there.
    Cheers,
    Geoff


    reposts welcome

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cowandilla, SA
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    8,583
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    My 40D has it too, however my 350D doesn't. Could be a case of Canon's entry level range not having that functionality with it only available on their mid-range and upwards?

    I think I also noticed that older photos I'd processed with CS4 didn't have distance info, whilst CS5 does.... don't quote me on that one though.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Waikerie, South Australia
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    247

    Default

    I think it is really interesting info, gives an indication of the stealth abilities of other photograpers.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Yarra Ranges, Victoria
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    3,755

    Default

    I use Lightroom. My Olympus cameras (E620, E30) didn't show this info, but as advised above my 7D does.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Proserpine, Queensland
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    4,668

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geoff Gates View Post
    Have a look at the exif for one of your 50D raw files in bridge. ...I'll bet it is there.
    Nope, just checked some old RAW files from the 50D and the subject distance is not listed in the EXIF, yet is listed with 7D and 1D Mark IV photographs. The latter two I don't need to even open in Bridge to see the subject distance, it's listed in the details of the jpeg by just right clicking and going to Properties > Details and subject distance is listed in metres. Weird
    Aust. Life List (IOC) - 315 (Rufous Owl- 11/09/2014)
    Dale Mengel Photography - a work in progress!
    Follow me on Facebook
    Check out my Birding Blog

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Lindisfarne, Southern Tasmania
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    I have a canon Kiss X4 which I am told is the same as a 550D. I don't get Subject Distance information in JPG or CR2 files directly from the camera. However, when I process a CR2 file in Photoshop CS5, the resultant JPG file contains the Subject Distance information. See http://www.feathersandphotos.com.au/...read.php?10537 taken with a Canon 300mm f/4 IS lens. and http://www.feathersandphotos.com.au/...ygnus-atratus) taken with a Canon 500mm f/4 IS lens. Hope this is some help.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    4,537
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Collins View Post
    I have a canon Kiss X4 which I am told is the same as a 550D. I don't get Subject Distance information in JPG or CR2 files directly from the camera. However, when I process a CR2 file in Photoshop CS5, the resultant JPG file contains the Subject Distance information. See http://www.feathersandphotos.com.au/...read.php?10537 taken with a Canon 300mm f/4 IS lens. and http://www.feathersandphotos.com.au/...ygnus-atratus) taken with a Canon 500mm f/4 IS lens. Hope this is some help.
    You are right on that one, I'm on a different computer at the moment so I went to the photography forum and saved one of my images from there and in the image details it has the subject distance! Thanks for the info, at least I know I can access it, because I like knowing it.

    Thank you so much everyone for your help and info

    An interesting piece of info though, I tried to look at the distance info for some other images of mine, and realised that it wasn't coming up with any of the EXIF data, I checked all of my other images. I then realised, that the first one I checked, was the only image I had not cropped before saving as a jpeg. So obviously, if you crop, it doesn't retain that information. So I would have to go back to my original raw files and simply resize and save them as a jpeg without cropping, just to check the distance to subject.
    Last edited by Rebecca Zanker; 01-09-2011 at 08:02 AM.
    Reposts welcome =)

    Blog- Close Encounters of the Bird Kind. Updated 28/05/2014 "Courting Cuckoos"

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Proserpine, Queensland
    Image Reposts
    Yes, with details
    Posts
    4,668

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bec Z View Post
    You are right on that one, I'm on a different computer at the moment so I went to the photography forum and saved one of my images from there and in the image details it has the subject distance! Thanks for the info, at least I know I can access it, because I like knowing it.

    Thank you so much everyone for your help and info

    An interesting piece of info though, I tried to look at the distance info for some other images of mine, and realised that it wasn't coming up with any of the EXIF data, I checked all of my other images. I then realised, that the first one I checked, was the only image I had not cropped before saving as a jpeg. So obviously, if you crop, it doesn't retain that information. So I would have to go back to my original raw files and simply resize and save them as a jpeg without cropping, just to check the distance to subject.
    My 7D and 1D Mark IV images still retain the distance info after I crop and apply other post processing. Maybe my computer just has the capability of reading more detailed EXIF as I don't have to access photoshop or bridge to view such data. Interesting though how it appears to be different from one cam to the next!
    Aust. Life List (IOC) - 315 (Rufous Owl- 11/09/2014)
    Dale Mengel Photography - a work in progress!
    Follow me on Facebook
    Check out my Birding Blog

Similar Threads

  1. A little photoshop help PLEASE :D
    By Kirri Hardy in forum Techniques and Educational
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-03-2012, 03:16 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •