• "MEET A MEMBER" #5 Paul Randall

Paul Randall is an extremely passionate bird photographer residing in Victoria. Werribee Treatment Plant is Paul's home away from home and when he's not helping members on the forum you will most likely find him down on the "Poo Plant" building on his extensive collection of photographs of resident or visiting Melbourne birds.

What is the first thing you think of in the morning?

Do I have to???? Get out of bed I mean, I love to sleep in.

What attracted you to avian photography?

I wanted to share with friends and family what I had been observing through my binoculars. I found birds and their behavior fascinating and thought that others would too.

What was the first bird you photographed? Did you know what species it was?

The first bird I photographed was a New Holland Honeyeater and I knew what it was as I had been birding extensively for two years before getting a camera.

What is it about avian photography that keeps you coming back for more?

I guess the fact that you never know what you are going to find when you go out taking photos is a big factor for me. The combination of bird/ light/ settings/ behaviour etc means that there are infinite possibilities to explore.

Which nature photographers are you most inspired by? Why are they such an inspiration?

Andy Rouse is one of my favourites because he takes very unique images and Art Morris is also a big influence. He literally "wrote the book" on bird photography and his willingness to pass on what he knew/knows to others is an inspiration to me and something I strive to achieve myself as well.
    As for Australian photographers, I am a big fan of the work of Raoul Slater, he has a great eye for unique images and his knowledge of birds is absolutely extensive having grown up with birds around him for all of his life.

If you could choose anyone to join you on a shoot who would that someone be?